Dump Cake

I give fair warning: I’m about to share another completely not-from-scratch, not-health-food potluck dessert.

I don’t generally care for canned fruit, or really, most fruits that haven’t been pureed and mixed with vanilla ice cream. Yes, that is a terrible example to set for my children. In spite of my issues, Boodie will eat most fruits that don’t eat her first, and The Taterbug has recently decided that fresh cherries are edible.

Anyhow.

I’ve known about dump cakes for years, but never made one until we started a twice-a-month Bible study. The recipe that I found online calls for cherry pie filling, pineapple and walnuts. I can’t eat pineapple unless it’s in cheesecake (seriously, it gives me terrible indigestion) and I don’t think that walnuts belong anywhere near a dessert when there are much tastier nuts available. So I decided to modify the recipe heavily.

Here’s my version of Dump Cake:

The day before you plan to serve:

1 29-oz. can sliced peaches in heavy syrup (or whatever canned fruit you like)
1 can blueberry pie filling (or whatever fruit pie filling you like)
1 box yellow cake mix (chocolate would be good with cherry pie filling)
1/2 C chopped pecans (or almonds are good too)
1 stick cold butter

Dump the can of peaches into the bottom of a 9×13 cake pan.

Drop spoonfuls of the blueberry pie filling evenly over the peaches.

Sprinkle the cake mix evenly over the fruit, and pat it down gently.

Cut up the butter into small pieces and drop them evenly across the cake mix.

Sprinkle the pecans over the top.

Bake at 350 for 30-ish minutes.

Serve after the cake has cooled.

*The original recipe called for a smaller can of fruit than I had, so I compensated by using less butter on the top.

It was a hit!

This entry was posted in Good Stuff, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dump Cake

  1. nan says:

    did everything the way you wrote it and it came out a soupy mess

    • mel says:

      Hi Nan-
      I’m sorry this didn’t turn out well for you. I’ve given it some thought, and I can think of two possible reasons why it didn’t. The canned peaches that I used were packed in heavy syrup. If yours were packed in light syrup or juice, that might have made the dump cake turn out more watery. I baked the dump cake the day before I served it. That might give the cake time to absorb some of the liquid from the fruit. I made the same recipe again this weekend, using canned apricots and blackberry pie filling, and the dump cake turns out very much like a cobbler. Thank you for your feedback, I have edited the directions for clarity.

What are your thoughts?