New Life for an Old Lamp

teal lamp

Many weeks ago, I mentioned the sleep trouble that I suffer this time of year, and a kind woman named Nancy suggested that I look into SAD lights.  I decided to give it a try, but it took some time for me to remember to pick up new light bulbs, and then I couldn’t find a lamp that I liked.  I did switch the bulbs in the office ceiling fixture to bright daylight CFLs, and I have made an effort to keep the window shades in the house open when the sun is shining.

When I visited my dad recently, he offered me an old table lamp that he had on his dresser when he was a child.  It was so much cuter than any of the lamps I’d looked at while thrifting, and it was even cheaper (free) than a similar lamp I almost bought at Walmart.

before lamp floor

before lamp detail

The paint was chipped, it needed re-wired, and a shade.  I planned to re-paint it black, but then I changed my mind and used the can of aqua spray paint that I bought to spiff up a child’s school desk.  I’m fairly certain that this lamp is now the only aqua-colored home decor item that I own.  It reminds me of my dear friend Beth’s Magic Chef stove.  With the can of paint, and the wiring kit, I spent no more than if I’d bought the new lamp (around $10) and this lamp appears to be cast iron rather than resin/plastic/rubber wood.

aqua lamp detail
At some point in the future (like maybe on one of the 5 days out of the year when the temperature is moderate and the wind isn’t blowing), I may decide to sand the paint to smooth it and spray on one more light coat of aqua. I was impatient (shocking, I know) and painted on a windy day, and as a result there are a couple of spots where the paper towel I used to protect my patio table from overspray touched the lamp before the paint was dry. I’m still debating whether to use some silver Rub-n-buff to bring out the Art Deco details. For now, I’ve strategically turned the lamp so the imperfect spots don’t show.

before lamp detail teal lamp

This entry was posted in Decorating, Don't buy that, Repurposing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Life for an Old Lamp

  1. Nonny says:

    Your refurbished lamp turned out very nice! What a change!!
    I am stopping by from Sew Many Ways

    Have a great weekend!
    Nonny
    http://www.notionsfromnonny.blogspot.com

What are your thoughts?

