An (Imperfect) Organized Gift

Ever since The Taterbug received her beloved Caroline doll for her birthday, I’ve been pondering what to do with all of the little stuff that goes along with her. Between the little $5 princess dolls, Strawberry Shortcake, Moxie Girls and ponies, we have enough tiny little clothes, shoes and accessories to drive me crazy. They get dirty, they get lost, and they are everywhere. I didn’t want to see that happen with this new doll.

The armoire that is sold for these dolls costs more than I spent on my own dresser. Not happening.

Fortunately, we stopped in a secondhand store on a recent trip to town and I spotted the perfect thing for only $10. I’m pretty sure it could be found at a craft store for around $20-ish new.

IMG_1665IMG_1666

Someone had obviously started to do something with it, and then quit. One of the drawers was not square and had some glue drips, but when the drawers are shut, you can’t tell, and this is for a 7-year-old. I wasn’t in love with the weird blue spray-paint effect, and planned to paint over it, but as I looked through my scrapbook papers and paints, a new plan developed.

My (very old) acrylic paints were separated, but since I hadn’t bothered to buy new ones while in town, I figured I’d just stir them up and all would be well. Wrong. Even with shaking and stirring, the paint did not go on opaque. But I liked the hot-pink stained effect on the bare wood, so I kept going. The paint dried really quickly, and then I cut the scrapbook paper to fit the door panels and the back. I intended to use Mod-Podge to attach the paper and seal it, but I couldn’t find it anywhere. I suspect that I might have left it in our camper after Sukkot, but it was below zero outdoors, so I decided to use white craft glue.

The doors look like a window overlooking a garden full of snapdragons when closed, and when open, the inside looks like the sky with a blooming cherry tree in the background. It’s kind of uplifting in the dead of winter.

IMG_1669IMG_1674

I’m going to say right now that this little armoire is totally imperfect. There are brush strokes where I got a little carried away with the paint, I didn’t sand anything, and I didn’t even bother to seal the paint and paper (maybe after I go hunt down that Mod Podge). Heck, I forgot to trim the purple damask paper on the top before I gave it to her. I don’t even care that it isn’t perfect. It’s cute, it holds all the little doll crap that drives me crazy, and most important of all, The Taterbug loves it.

This entry was posted in Decluttering/Organizing, Decorating, Don't buy that. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An (Imperfect) Organized Gift

  1. Sandra says:

    What a sweet little dresser! So cute:)

  2. Bethany says:

    I love this! I’ve actually never seen one in a craft store, but now I’m going to have to look!
    Found you through the linky party & happy to be following!
    http://eatemup121.blogspot.com/

  3. Karen says:

    It is charming and your daughter will treasure it because you decorated it! Memories! You made some sweet ones with this project. Blessing for a joy-filled 2013.

What are your thoughts?

