What I’ve Been Doing Lately

Maybe you’ve noticed that I’ve been a great big slacker with the blogging thing lately. For the most part, this is due to two things: 1) I don’t get along very well with digital cameras and their software, and 2) my Fall/Winter insomnia has returned for about the 12th year straight. Which means that all projects that I began with enthusiasm have stalled out due to worse-than-usual procrastinating.

In spite of all that, I have done relatively well with keeping my kitchen and bathrooms in a state that wouldn’t horrify the health inspector. I’ve stayed on-track with homeschooling for the most part. And I’ve been indulging my latest crochet obsession:


The necklaces are crocheted with a lame’ beading thread, a smallish hook (around a size D) and either semi-precious or glass and acrylic beads. One of these days, I’m going to take a photography class so my pictures will look decent without me having to fight with Picasa.

The bracelets are made with a larger hook (around a size I), silver-plated beading wire, and freshwater pearls or semi-precious stone chips. Mainly, this is because the holes in the semi-precious chips are drilled small enough that I couldn’t get the beading needle and lame’ thread through them. The wire works as its own needle, so I was still able to use them.

I am really enjoying the creative aspects (selecting colors and types of beads) of this new angle on crochet. The part where I wrestle with little tiny clasps, needle-nose pliers, and the suspicion that I might need bifocals is not nearly as much fun.

This entry was posted in Crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What I’ve Been Doing Lately

  1. abbey says:

    I LOVE these! They are very unique.

  2. Nancy says:

    HI, stumbled here thru Sew Many Ways link party. Love the necklaces. In regards to the winter insominia, a SAD (seasonal affective disorder) therapy light may help. Google SAD light therapy and read about it. Makes a huge difference for me in the winter and my mood.

  3. Linda Southworth says:

    Absolutely LOVE LOVE your jewelry! And you crochet these how wonderful! You should sell these if you don’t already.

What are your thoughts?

