Broccoli Cheese Soup

I originally wrote this post in December of 2010. Unfortunately, I had misplaced my camera shortly prior to writing the post, so there were no photos to accompany it. I made a batch of soup today, and I knew where my camera was, so I thought I’d update it. My kids still request this for lunch at least once a week (not that I make it that often).

I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m not a big fan of broccoli. My conscience started pestering me about a year ago. I felt that as a parent, I should be setting a better nutritional example in my home.

I began searching for a broccoli cheese soup recipe, since the husband and the Taterbug are both quite fond of it. Most recipes I found contained the words “canned cream of _____ soup”. It didn’t seem right to start a soup recipe with “open a can of soup”. A lot of the recipes also called for a pasteurized, processed cheese product. I have never in my life purchased or cooked with that stuff, and I wasn’t about to start.

Then, while attending an Annie’s Project class, I was given a calender that contained recipes for, among other things, broccoli cheese soup. This recipe called for margarine, and the pasteurized cheese substance, but it was a place to start. I substituted butter for the margarine, and cheddar for the “cheese”. It was easy, it smelled acceptable (I will never enjoy the smell of cooking broccoli) and it actually tasted good. Without further ado, here it is:

Broccoli Cheese Soup
serves 4

6 T butter
6 T flour
1 T onion powder
1/2t ground black pepper
4 C milk.
6 oz. shredded cheddar
2 C broccoli

The amounts of butter, flour, milk and cheese are important, but the other ingredients can be adjusted to taste.

Steam the broccoli in a saucepan or the microwave until it’s hot, but still bright green. Dice it up, and set aside.

Melt butter in a 5qt. soup pot. Dump in the flour, onion powder and pepper, and whisk to combine.

Let it cook for about a minute. If you cook it too long, your soup will taste like brown gravy.

When the butter mixture is ready, very, very slowly whisk in the milk a little at a time. If you add it in too quickly, you’ll get lumps. Once the milk is combined, let it simmer on the stove, stirring frequently, until it starts to thicken and bubble.

At that point, gradually whisk in the cheese, adding more only when the previous addition is completely melted.

Once the cheese is all incorporated, stir the diced broccoli into the soup.

Enjoy.

I like to steam some diced peppers with the broccoli, or throw in some dehydrated soup vegetables. I will substitute mozzarella or Colby Jack cheese if I’m out of cheddar. I also like to double the batch and freeze some for those days when I get sidetracked and forget to make lunch.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Broccoli Cheese Soup

  1. pookiesmom says:

    I can vouch for this soup. I hate broccoli as much as Mel does and this soup is great. My husband and son also love it.

  2. Karen says:

    It sounds wonderful. I will be trying this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Sally says:

    This sounds delicious! I’ll definitely be making this one day.

  4. Pingback: Nacho Cheese Sauce |

What are your thoughts?

