Shawls

The first shawls I ever made were given away. One for a church bazaar, and one for a gift. The two that I still have are pictured below:

I bought a bunch of Caron Simply Soft in pink when it was on clearance a couple of years ago. It is a dream to work with, but the stuff stretches out over time, and it tends to pill with washing. That made it perfect for use in a shawl (I’ve never had one turn out too large, and I don’t wear them often, so they don’t take a lot of trips through the washing machine). The pattern that I used for this one was the Tea Wrap from Lion Brand.

I love the look of the stitch pattern, but I should have paid more attention to the finished shape before I began. It’s really more decoration than warm wrap.

My number one, most favorite colorway of all time is “Eden” by A Time To Dye. I have purchased it to use on woolies for my children two or 3 different times, and then I saw it come available on sock weight yarn. Now, I don’t crochet socks, and even if I were a knitter, I probably wouldn’t knit socks either. That’s what I have a sister for. But it was so beautiful that I bought it anyhow. And then I began to wonder just what I could possibly crochet for me, with a skein of sock yarn. After several hours of looking on Ravelry (such a hardship) I found the perfect pattern. “My Blue Jeans Shawl” has a nice openwork pattern, and even though it was written for worsted weight yarn, it worked up beautifully with sock weight.


I wouldn’t change a thing about this one. Well, I do wish there had been enough yarn left over to make some Afternoon Tea Fingerless Gloves, but that might have been a bit over-the-top.

This entry was posted in Crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shawls

  1. finger gloves would have been awesome!!!

What are your thoughts?

