Who needs easter eggs?

My flock of ducks, geese and chickens is colorful, and I’m not just talking about their feathers.

Every single one of these eggs is colored by the bird who laid it. No smelly vinegar, no stained fingers, and none of these eggs has been cooked yet.

The darkest brown egg is laid by my Splash Cochin hen(I wouldn’t have believed it if I hadn’t been present when the egg dropped), the dark grey comes from a Cayuga duck, the large white egg is from an American Buff goose, the lighter brown eggs come from Buff Orpington, Wyandotte, Speckled Sussex and Blue Cochin hens, the small eggs come from bantam Cochin hens, and the blue, turquoise and green eggs come from Easter Egger and blue Ameraucana hens. I’m not sure which bird is responsible for the green egg speckled with white yet. It should be interesting to see if it’s a one-off, or if she’ll do it again.

This entry was posted in Poultry herding. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who needs easter eggs?

  1. cluttercafe says:

    Those are gorgeous! I have a thing with eggs. I found some antique prints and had them framed for my kitchen. I love how vibrant and varied they can be. Your bunch makes a beautiful color palette for a room. I think I have found my inspiration for my dining room. I have no blues or blue/greens in my house and lately I’ve been gravitating towards them. I think I needs some of their calming qualities in my life. Thanks for the inspiration. And, I’m totally jealous I don’t have chickens of my own.

  2. Jodie says:

    How fun is that?! It’s Easter every day.

What are your thoughts?

