Old Yeller

Yes, that would be me. I find myself yelling a lot these days. The Husband suffers from hearing loss, and the children suffer from selective hearing and Make-a-Mess-When-Mom-Isn’t-Looking Disorder. Ok, actually, they don’t seem to mind it. I am the one who suffers.

So my Resolution for the coming year, is to yell less.

I will have to try harder to only speak to The Husband when he’s in the same room and facing me. It’s going to be a lot harder for him to pretend that he didn’t hear what I said when I’m looking right at him. I have no illusions about whether he’ll remember/comprehend what I say, but it’s a start.

I will have to do the same with The Taterbug and Boodie. I’m also going to have to start watching the clock more closely, and check up on them more often. I can get pretty wrapped up in a project, a chore, or a forum, and tune out the world until I notice that it’s been awfully quiet in the house. By that time, great havoc has already been wrought. They’re good kids, but they’re also smart, resourceful, and sneaky. I don’t know where they get it.

My other resolution for the year is to make my house easier to live in. It’s plenty big enough. It has more than enough storage areas. We just have too much Stuff. We made a dent in the Stuff back in November, and we’ve made several trips to the Salvation Army with outgrown clothing, outgrown toys, mismatched dishes (I can’t stand to have mismatched dishes) and other things we don’t need.

And then, the holidays came upon us. I completely fell off the housework wagon. Fortunately, tomorrow is a new day.

As the year progresses, I will be looking through closets, cabinets and shelves with a critical eye. I will be giving fabric care labels, cleaning products and new purchases careful scrutiny. I will be asking myself some important questions:

Can it be used for more than one purpose?

Is it easy to clean?

Will something that I already have work just as well?

Is it safe and healthy for my family?

Can I still use it when the power goes out?

Where will I store it?

Will it withstand my family?

Will I have a stroke if it gets broken?

Does it look nice?

Is the desire to own it greater than the aggravation of cleaning up the mess that will be made with it?

Can I get it cheaper somewhere else?

It might not be easy. I love to shop. The Husband tends to impulse buy at the grocery store. My sister is an enabler. But it will be worthwhile if I can look around my house at least 50% of the time and not want to cry. Or yell.

This entry was posted in Decluttering/Organizing. Bookmark the permalink.

What are your thoughts?

