ETA, April 18th

I wrote previously about my plans to acquire some chickens this coming spring. I’ve spent hours comparing the different breeds and debating between hatchery and breeder chickens. I eventually decided to order chicks from Cackle hatchery, and we will probably pick out some Easter Egger chicks from the feed store. There are a couple of breeders that I plan to purchase hatching eggs from later.

On Dec. 20th, I ordered partridge and gold-laced bantam Cochins for my girls, since they are reputed to be calm, docile birds and thus better suited to children. I ordered Buff Orpingtons, Silver Laced Wyandottes, Speckled Sussex and standard Blue Cochins for me. They won’t arrive until April, but I wanted to be sure I could get the breeds of chickens I wanted, and now that they’re ordered, a deadline for finishing the coop has been set. Nobody wants to live with baby chicks in the house for very long.

Now, we wait for spring.

This entry was posted in Poultry herding. Bookmark the permalink.

What are your thoughts?

